Table of Contents
How do I get a license to do eyelash extensions?
HOW TO BECOME A LICENSED EYELASH TECHNICIAN
- Check the list of licensing requirements for your state.
- Take an accredited course and complete the required hours of training in order to graduate and receive a certificate.
- Go to your state’s Board of Cosmetology (or Esthetics) and take your licensing exam.
Can I do lash extensions with just a certificate?
At minimum, according to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, you must be a licensed esthetician or cosmetologist to do eyelash extensions. No, you can’t practice without a license, and there are serious repercussions for those that try. You can be fined or receive a misdemeanor.
What certification do you need for lashes?
Do I Need A License to do Eyelash Extensions?
|STATE||LICENSE TYPE REQUIRED||PHONE|
|California||Cosmetologist or Esthetician||800-952-5210|
|Colorado||Cosmetologist or Esthetician||303-894-7700|
|connecticut||Eyelash Technician license or Esthetician||860-509-7603|
|Delaware||No license required||302-744-4500|
What is the difference between a licensed and certified lash Tech?
A certification does not give an unlicensed stylist the right to practice lashes professionally. A certification means that the stylist has likely self-educated themselves about the procedure. A certification alone is a red flag.
Do I need an esthetician license to do eyelash extensions?
As mentioned, you must have an esthetician or cosmetology license to do eyelash extensions in most states. Additionally, some states will allow licensed medical and dental professionals.
Can you get lash certified online?
Online Education is your portal to 24/7 eyelash extensions training- online. Log in and get access to Training Videos, Product Fact Sheets, marketing tips, lash design guides, and more from the comfort of your own home or lash studio.
How can I get my esthetician license online?
How to become an esthetician online
- Enroll in an online esthetician program. Look for an accredited program that passes all state board requirements in the area where you plan to practice.
- Complete esthetician training requirements.
- Choose a specialization.
- Earn your esthetician’s license.
How much does lash certification cost?
A lash certification course will cover everything you need to start your career as a certified lash technician. From sanitation to application, this is the first and most important step you will take toward your new career! Eyelash extension certification classes range in price from $300–$2,000.
How do I become a certified esthetician?
In order to become a licensed esthetician, you’ll have to:
- Complete an esthetician training program or complete an apprenticeship (allowed in some states).
- Submit proof of training/apprenticeship hours to your state board.
- Take and pass all required exams.
- Pay a license fee.
Do you have to be an esthetician to do lashes?
There are no standard educational requirements for lash technicians. However, when seeking employment, a high school diploma and related training as a certified makeup artist or esthetician are considered assets. In Alberta, eyelash extension technician training and certification is offered by many private schools.
How much does it cost to start a eyelash extension business?
Office Space Expenses
|Cost||Min Startup Costs||Max Startup Costs|
|Utility Costs For Office Space ➜||$200||$1,150|
|WiFi & Internet ➜||$50||$100|
Do you need to be licensed to do eyelash extensions?
No licensing is needed to become a eyelash extensions technicians. You do not have to be licensed as a cosmetologist, esthetician, or have a specialty license. This service is overseen as it would be for “make-up.”. Because it’s a gray area, eyelash extensions are not regulated in the state of Connecticut.
Can You Go Blind from eyelash extensions?
No, you cannot go blind from eyelash extensions because your eyes are closed during the procedure. But in extreme cases, coming in contact with formaldehyde can cause blindness.
Do you need license to do eyelash extensions in California?
In most states, including Washington State, California, Arizona, and Colorado, this includes holding an esthetician or cosmetologist license. Texas also recently created a specialty license in eyelash extension application that requires the completion of an eyelash training program.
Do I need an Esthetician License to do eyelash?
As mentioned, you do have to have an esthetician or cosmetology license to do eyelash extensions in most states. Additionally, some states will allow licensed medical and dental professionals. Not to mention, eyelash extension training programs may require you to have an esthetician or cosmetology license to even participate!