What is the order of the spinal regions?

What is the order of the spinal regions?

The vertebrae are numbered and divided into regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacrum, and coccyx (Fig. 2). Only the top 24 bones are moveable; the vertebrae of the sacrum and coccyx are fused. The vertebrae in each region have unique features that help them perform their main functions.

What are the three parts of the vertebral column in order from superior to inferior?

Vertebral Column The adult vertebral column consists of 24 vertebrae, plus the sacrum and coccyx. The vertebrae are divided into three regions: cervical C1–C7 vertebrae, thoracic T1–T12 vertebrae, and lumbar L1–L5 vertebrae.

What are the 5 sections of the spine?

The spine is composed of 33 bones, called vertebrae, divided into five sections: the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine sections, and the sacrum and coccyx bones. The cervical section of the spine is made up of the top seven vertebrae in the spine, C1 to C7, and is connected to the base of the skull.

What are the 4 regions of the spinal cord?

CSF protects the spinal cord from injury. The spinal cord is also protected by 3 layers of coverings called the meninges. They are the dura mater, the arachnoid mater, and the pia mater. The spinal cord and spine are divided into 4 regions from top to bottom: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, and sacral.

What are the 3 regions of the spine?

The normal anatomy of the spine is usually described by dividing up the spine into three major sections: the cervical, the thoracic, and the lumbar spine. (Below the lumbar spine is a bone called the sacrum, which is part of the pelvis). Each section is made up of individual bones, called vertebrae.

How many regions is the spine divided into?

Anatomically, the spine is divided into four regions: The top seven vertebrae that form the neck are called the cervical spine and are labeled C1-C7. The upper back, or thoracic spine, has 12 vertebrae, labeled T1-T12. The lower back, or lumbar spine has five vertebrae, labeled L1-L5.

What are the 5 regions of the vertebral column from superior to inferior?

From superior to inferior, these are:

  • Cervical: 7 vertebrae (C1 = highest; C7 = lowest)
  • Thoracic: 12 vertebrae (T1 = highest; T12 = lowest)
  • Lumbar: 5 vertebrae (L1 = highest; L5 = lowest)
  • Sacral: 5 fused vertebrae (S1 = highest; S5 = lowest)
  • Coccygeal: 3-4 fused vertebrae (Co1 = highest; Co3 = lowest)

What are the 3 main parts of a vertebra?

What are the 3 sections of the spine?

The spine has three normal curves: cervical, thoracic and lumbar. There are seven cervical vertebrae in the neck, 12 thoracic vertebrae in the torso and five lumbar vertebrae in the lower back.

How many sections does the spine have?

The spine itself has three main segments: the cervical spine, the thoracic spine, and the lumbar spine.

What are the three regions of the spine?

The upper three regions of the spinal column are termed the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar; they contain individually jointed vertebrae. The two lower regions—the sacrum and coccyx, or tailbone—are formed from fused vertebrae.

What region has 7 vertebrae?

Cervical Spine
The neck region of the spine is known as the Cervical Spine. This region consists of seven vertebrae, which are abbreviated C1 through C7 (top to bottom). These vertebrae protect the brain stem and the spinal cord, support the skull, and allow for a wide range of head movement.

What are the regions of the spinal cord?

The spinal cord is a bundle of nerve fibers that extend from the brain stem down the spinal column to the lower back. Spinal cord regions from superior to inferior cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacral, coccygeal the _________region of the spinal cord gives rise to eight pairs of spinal nerves. Spinal cord regions from superior to inferior.

What are the parts of the spinal column?

Spinal Column Anatomy 1 Vertebrae. As mentioned above, our vertebrae are numbered and divided into five regions: cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacrum, and coccyx. 2 Intervertebral Discs. Between the vertebrae are pads called the intervertebral discs. 3 Spinal Cord & Nerves. 4 Muscles. 5 Facet Joints. 6 Ligaments & Tendons.

Which is larger the lumbar spine or the thoracic spine?

The size and shape of each lumbar vertebra is designed to carry most of the body’s weight. Each structural element of a lumbar vertebra is bigger, wider and broader than similar components in the cervical and thoracic regions. The lumbar spine has more range of motion than the thoracic spine, but less than the cervical spine.

What kind of muscles are in the back of the spine?

The two main muscle groups that affect the spine are extensors and flexors. The extensor muscles enable us to stand up and lift objects. The extensors are attached to the back of the spine. The flexor muscles are in the front and include the abdominal muscles.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top